Jim Pfaendtner Wins Distinguished Teaching Award

Filed Under: AwardsNews

The University of Washington has announced this year's Awards of Excellence recipients, recognizing achievements in teaching, mentoring, public service and staff support.

The winners will be honored 3:30-4:30 p.m., June 13, at a ceremony in Meany Hall for the campus and general public.

Being awarded for the first time this year is the Distinguished Alumni Veteran Award in recognition of community service and civic engagement by a UW alum who is a veteran. The first recipient is Rear Adm. Herbert Bridge, U.S. Navy, retired, who graduated from the UW in '47.

The other 2013 recipients are:

Distinguished Staff Award

"º Jackins, exercise training center, UW Medical Center

"º Kummet, social work

"º Lubin, housing and food services

"º Genome sciences tech team: James Cobb, Dale A. Hubler, Brian McNally, Roy Obenchain

Alexander Safir, Skylar Thompson, Charles Winston, Elizabeth Young, genome sciences

"º Partners PrEP study team: Mira Emmanuel-Ogier, Harald Haugen, Ting Hong, Lara Kidoguchi, Meighan Krows

Susan Morrison, Dana Panteleeff, Katherine Thomas, global health

David B. Thorud Leadership Award

"º Faculty award: Nancy Alarcon, speech and hearing sciences

"º Staff award: Susan Terry, UW Career Center

Distinguished Librarian Award
Glenda Pearson, microforms and newspapers collection, University Libraries

Alumni Association Distinguished Service Award
Bryan Pearce (posthumous award)

Distinguished Retiree Excellence in Community Service Award
Richard Simkins, undergraduate academic advising

Distinguished Teaching Award

"º Tilden, business, UW Bothell

"º West, interdisciplinary arts and sciences, UW Tacoma

"º Barker, anthropology

"º Manchak, philosophy

"º Pfaendtner, chemical engineering

"º Punt, aquatic and fishery sciences

"º Thurtle, comparative history of ideas

Excellence in Teaching Award

"º Deepa Bhandaru, political science

"º Chi Hou Lei, mechanical engineering

Distinguished Contributions to Lifelong Learning Award
James DeLong, social work

S. Sterling Munro Public Service Teaching Award
Eleanor Bond, biobehavioral nursing and health systems

University Faculty Lecture Award
Stephen Gloyd, global health and health services

Marsha L. Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award
Fred Rieke, physiology and biophysics

Outstanding Public Service Award
Katherine Beckett, sociology, and law, societies and justice

Alumnus Summa Laude Dignatus
William H. Gates, '50

President's Medal
To be announced in mid-May

Read the full article in UW Today "º